Davide Cedolin - Embracing the unknown


01. Loosely
02. Destination Unknown
03. Rites under the moon
04. Woke
05. Silver pines
06. An echo
07. Vanishing Sky
08. Silence
09. Undust

Produced by Davide Cedolin, Torto Editions and Marsiglia Records. Davide’s first album has been developed on the concept of the “Unknown” and how to deal with it, especially in an era where everything seems so close, fast and easy to know and get but where the compromise between the quality and the timing of the informations often goes in contradiction.

Embracing The Unknown is, somehow, a way of blind trust to the veiled patterns that life has, a lost geography of imaginary paths and landscapes submerged by the multiple daily stimulations; Embracing The Unknown is about the choice of losing control, intentionally.It happened during a camping in the middle of a dried river bed, “Embracing The Unknown” had been a whisper blowing by the warm breeze at sunset. You can feel it quite clearly in ‘Destination Unknown’, a soft ballad built over a subtle psych-blues progression with Davide intent in describing the scenery all around him, even though nature is constantly present over the entire album: right from its title ‘Rites Under The Moon’ evokes a night mellow atmosphere; and crickets are chirping all the time during ‘Silver Pines’, a guitar number indebted to the Virginian native Daniel Bachman.

The album features Ryan Jewell (Ryley Walker, Steve Gunn, Chris Forsyth) on drums and the band includes also talented and eclectic local musicians, providing a different shade on every track: folk is the main ingredient but is enriched with alt-country tempos (‘Loosely’), hallucinogenic vibes (‘An Echo’), western frontier imaginary (‘Vanishing Sky’) and lots of other compelling ideas. A vast landscape to breathe into and take some time.

Performed by
Davide Cedolin (vocals, acoustic guitar, slide guitar, harmonica, organ, glockenspiel, field recordings)
Tommaso Rolando (bass upright/electric, organ, percussion, trumpet)
Ryan Jewell (drums and percussion)
Paolo Tortora (electric guitar, acoustic guitar)
Tito Ghiglione (clarinet and bouzouki)
Rocco Pietro Spigno (electric piano and organ)
Caterina Rolando (chimes)

Released June 30, 2021
Mixed by Davide Cedolin and Tommaso Rolando except “Rites Under The Moon” and “Woke” by Ryan Jewell and “Vanishing Sky” by Tommaso Rolando.
Mastered by Patrick Klem in Durham, NC.

Pictures by Davide Cedolin and Caterina Rolando.
Drawings and artwork by Davide Cedolin.
Design And Layout, hand-pulled screenprint cover and risograph gr3770 inlay by TroppaTrama Print Lab.
Printed on Favini Crush Agrumi recycled paper

All songs by Davide Cedolin

Licenza Creative Commons

Embracing the unknown by Davide Cedolin is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribuzione - Condividi allo stesso modo 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at https://www.marsigliarecords.it/m079/.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://www.marsigliarecords.it/contacts/.